The life of an individual is guided by the charismatic movement of nine heavenly bodies known as planets or graham of the Solar system. Each of the Navagrahas represents 9 Planetary Gods in Hindu Religion. Hindus worship them as Gods. These 9 planets of Solar System are the Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu.

Out of the nine planet gods, seven are named after the names of the planets of the solar system and the other two gods are the names of demons who gained a place in the pantheon by a trick.

These planets and their position is the base of Hindu astronomy. Hindus firmly believe that the possibilities and potentialities of an individual depend upon planetary position at the time of a person's birth.

Basically we see navagrahas complementing main deities in some temple whereas some temples are exclusively meant to worship planet god only.


Sun is the central to all the planets and the entire nine planets move into its orbit. Surya or Sun is the solar deity who is one of the Adityas and is the son of Kashyapa and Aditi. It is believed that he has arms and hair of gold and his chariot is pulled by 7 horses. These horses represent the 7 chakras or energy nodes of human body. People worship him on Sundays as 'Ravi-Vaara' is presided over by Lord Surya. According to the hindu scriptures, Lord Surya is the visible form of God and is also famous as Surya Narayana. The Shaivities often regard him to be one of the eight forms of Shiva. Surya, Shani and Yama are said to be popular progenies of Surya

इस आर्टिकल को हिंदी में पढ़ने के लिए यहां क्लिक करें

Forthcoming Festivals