The national awards for bravery or the National Bravery Awards was started in 1957 by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) to recognize and honor children who have performed outstanding deeds of bravery and selfless sacrifice.

Every year the ICCW confers these awards to children below 16 years of age. The awards are announced on November 14 (Children s Day) and the Prime Minister presents the awards on the eve of Republic Day. The awardees receive a medal, certificate and cash as a token of their indispensable courage. These children also take part in the Republic Day Parade atop an elephant. In addition to this, some of them are also granted financial assistance to complete their schooling and professional courses such as medical and engineering (under the Indira Gandhi scholarship scheme). Assistance is also provided to some till they complete their graduation.

The Central and State government departments, Panchayats, Zila Parishads, State and Union Territory councils for Child Welfare and also the school authorities have the responsibility of acknowledging the applications for the bravery award.

The selection is made by a committee constituted by the ICCW, comprising of representatives from the Secretariats of the President and the Vice-President, various ministries, as well as the Central Social Welfare Board, police, All India Radio, Doordarshan and leading NGOs such as the National Bal Bhavan, SOS, Children s Villages of India, R K Mission and experienced ICCW members.

In 1978, the Indian Council for Child Welfare instituted two bravery awards for children under the age of 16, the Sanjay Chopra Award and the Geeta Chopra Award, given each year along with the National Bravery Award.

Bravery Awards 2013

The list of Bravery Award winners for the year 2013 was announced by the ICCW on January 18th, 2013. The award is to be conferred to 22 brave children from all parts of the country, the youngest recipient being 7-year-old Koroungamba Kuman from Manipur. The coveted Bharat Award will be awarded to Tarang Atulbhai Mistry from Gujarat and 11-year-old Gajendra Ram from Chhattisgarh is being felicitated with Sanjay Chopra award.

Name Award State
Renu Geeta Chopra Award Delhi
Gajendra Ram Sanjay Chopra Award Chhattisgarh
Tarang Atulbhai Mistry Bharat Award Gujarat
Vijay Kumar Sainik Bapu Gaidhani Award Uttar Pradesh
Akanksha Gaute Bapu Gaidhani Award Chhattisgarh
Hali Raghunath Baraf Bapu Gaidhani Award Maharashtra
Ramdinthara National Bravery Awards Mizoram
Devansh Tiwari National Bravery Awards Chhattisgarh
Mukesh Nishad National Bravery Awards Chhattisgarh
Lalrinhlua National Bravery Awards Mizoram
E. Suganthan National Bravery Awards Tamil Nadu
Ramith.K, National Bravery Awards Kerala
Mebin Cyriac National Bravery Awards Kerala
Vishnu M.V. National Bravery Awards Kerala
Koroungamba Kuman National Bravery Awards Manipur
Sameep Anil Pandit National Bravery Awards Maharashtra
Viswendra Lohkna National Bravery Awards Uttar Pradesh
Satendra Lohkana National Bravery Awards Uttar Pradesh
Pawan Kumar Kanaujiya National Bravery Awards Uttar Pradesh
Stripleaseman Mylliem National Bravery Awards Meghalaya
Sapna Kumari Meena National Bravery Awards Rajasthan
Suhail K.M. National Bravery Awards Karnataka

Gallantry Awards

Soldiers, who have performed outstanding deeds of bravery and selfless sacrifice, are awarded the bravery medals, Param Vir Chakra, Vir Chakra and Maha Vir Chakra. Each defense service in India have there own set of gallantry awards that are awarded to the soldiers who have shown courage and valor.

Read here about the Indian Gallantry Awards

Previous Awardees

Find here the list Award winners for the Republic Day, 2012

 Padma Awards 2012
 Correctional Services Medal 2012
 President s Police Medal for Distinguished Service
 Police Medals for Gallantry
 Police Medals for Meritorious Service


Forthcoming Festivals

Download our free mobile app

Get festival updates on your mobile & Explore and enjoy the panorama of Festivals/Fairs/Melas celebrated in India.