Since 1950, India has been inviting head of state or government of another country as the state guest of honor for Republic Day celebrations  and parade in New Delhi.  Selecting the Chief guest for the Republic Day  has more than mere ceremonial reasons. The choice of chief guest every year is dictated by a number of reasons such as strategic and diplomatic, business interest and international geo-politics. Recently India has been inviting dignitaries from South East Asia with the latest being Thailand s first women Prime Minister, Yingluck Shinawatra.

Jair Messias Bolsonaro, the President of Brazilwill be the Chief Guest on 71th Republic Day of India 2020.

Here is the list of Chief Guests invited as the Guest of Honor for the Republic Day ceremony held in Delhi.

1950    President Sukarno from Indonesia
1954    King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck of Bhutan
1955    Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad of Pakistan
1958    Marshall Ye Jianying of People’s Republic of China
1960    President Kliment Voroshilov of Soviet Union
1961    Queen Elizabeth II from United Kingdom
1963    King Norodom Sihanouk of Cambodia
1965    Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid of Pakistan
1968    Prime Minister Alexei Kosygin of Soviet Union
             President Josip Broz Tito of Yugoslavia
1969    Prime Minister of Bulgaria Todor Zhivkov of Bulgaria
1971    President Julius Nyerere of Tanzania
1972    Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam of Mauritius
1973    President Mobutu Sese Seko of Zaire
1974    President Josip Broz Tito of Yugoslavia
1975    President Kenneth Kaunda of Zambia
1976    Prime Minister Jacques Chirac of France
1977    First Secretary Edward Gierek of Poland
1978    President Patrick Hillery of Ireland
1979    Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser of Australia
1980    President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing of France
1981    President Jose Lopez Portillo of Mexico
1982    King Juan Carlos I of Spain
1983    President Shehu Shagari of Nigeria
1984    King Jigme Singye Wangchuck of Bhutan
1985    President Raúl Alfonsín of Argentina
1986    Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou of Greece
1987    President Alan García of Peru
1988    President Junius Jayewardene of Sri Lanka
1989    General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh of Vietnam
1990    Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth of Mauritius
1991    President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom of Maldives
1992    President Mário Soares of Portugal
1993    Prime Minister John Major of United Kingdom
1994    Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong of Singapore
    President Nelson Mandela of South Africa
1996    President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso of Brazil
1997    Prime Minister Basdeo Panday of Trinidad and Tobago
1998    President Jacques Chirac of France
1999    King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev of Nepal
2000    President Olusegun Obasanjo of Nigeria
2001    President Abdelaziz Bouteflika of Algeria
2002    President Cassam Uteem of Mauritius
2003    President Mohammed Khatami of Iran
2004    President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva of Brazil
2005    King Jigme Singye Wangchuck of Bhutan
2006    King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud of Saudi Arabia
2007    President Vladimir Putin of Russia
2008    President Nicolas Sarkozy of France
2009    President Nursultan Nazarbayev of Kazakhstan
2010    President Lee Myung Bak of Republic of Korea
2011    President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono of Indonesia
2012    Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra of Thailand
2013    Sultan of Oman Qaboos bin Said Al Said
2014    Prime Minister Shinzo Abe of Japan
2015    President Barak Obama of USA
2016    President François Hollande of France
Crown Prince Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan of UAE
Heads of state of all 10 ASEAN nations
Cyril Ramaphosa, the President of South Africa

इस आर्टिकल को हिंदी में पढ़ने के लिए यहां क्लिक करें



Forthcoming Festivals